The municipality of Sainte-rose is located in the east ofReunion Island. It is bordered to the north by the municipality of St. Benedict et The Palmist Plain, west by Buffer et Saint Joseph, to the south by St. Philip and to the east by theIndian Ocean
Le Piton de la Fournaise is one of the most active volcanoes in the world. Its northern flank borders the commune of Sainte-Rose, which is therefore the scene of frequent eruptions and also the victim of the recurrent crossing of lava flows outside the enclosure.
The climate is humid and Sainte-rose holds one of the highest rainfall records in the world. Thanks to the abundance of rainfall and its warm climate, the town produces on the coastal areas of the sugar cane, palmists, guava trees, bananas, vanilla and citrus fruits. In the heart, most of its soil is covered by an immense primary forest with endemic species.
The fishing port of Sainte-Rose
Le fishing port of Sainte-rose seduces passing tourists with its authenticity and attracts gourmets with the renowned quality of its fish.
The “Quai La Rose”
History Sainte-rose dates back to 1671, when Governor Jacob de La Haye and Monsieur Caron landed on the Navy site. The city will then be called successively Port Caron then Quai La Rose.
The first concessions were granted in 1727 to Guillaume Plante and Pierre Gotreau by the Compagnie des Indes. The district depends on Sainte-Suzanne until 1733, then from St. Benedict, became a parish in 1789 and a commune in 1790.
A little bit of history
The English fleet long before the coup de force of 1809 in Saint Paul which is at the origin of the domination of the island by the English in 1810.
In the XNUMXth century
At that time, the privileged position of Sainte-rose on the road linking Ile de France (Mauritius) and Bonaparte Island (Réunion) would undoubtedly explain the presence of the English in the vicinity at the beginning of the XNUMXth century, their strategy being to seize the Mascarenes.
The Battle of the English
After several approaches from the British, Commander Corbett approached the coast in 1809, aboard the Néréide, accompanied by his men. Sainte-rose lived for about ten days what was later called "The Battle of the English".
Following the death of Commander Corbett, a mausoleum was erected in his honor at Sainte-rose. His remains will be removed later but the mausoleum still exists today. It is known as the Corbett Monument.
The three symbols present on the coat of arms of the commune of Sainte-Rose are the silver rose for the name of the commune, a boat to represent the history and the maritime vocation of the commune, and a volcano, symbolizing the Piton de la Fournaise which dominates a large part of the territory.
The characteristic and unique landscape of Sainte-Rose has been shaped by lava flows. This imprint is now part of its heritage and has largely contributed to its reputation and its tourist development.
The 1977 casting
Unfortunately, the Sainte-Rosiens knew darker days. The April 13 1977, for the first time in Reunion, in living memory and lived experience, the eruption of the Piton de la Fournaise caused lava flows outside the enclosure. The lava rushed down the slopes of the village of Piton Sainte-Rose and carried more than 28 houses in its path before reaching the coast and flowing into the sea. Barely a few days later, the lava flows again crossed the village. but miraculously spared the church which will then be renamed Our Lady of the Lava. It has now become one of the most famous places of worship in Reunion. Natural phenomenon or divine intervention? You decide. The lava flow that surrounds the building is still present.